Rookies of the Year

Hanley Ramirez is the 14th former Rookie of the Year acquired by the Dodgers. The others are: Wally Moon (1954 Cardinals), Frank Robinson (1956 Reds), Dick Allen (1964 Phillies), Pat Zachry (1976 Reds), Eddie Murray (1977 Orioles), Alfredo Griffin (1979 Blue Jays), Darryl Strawberry (1983 Mets), Todd Worrell (1986 Cardinals), Gregg Olson (1989 Orioles), Sandy Alomar Jr. (1990 Indians), Nomar Garciaparra (1997 Red Sox), Rafael Furcal (2000 Braves), Angel Berroa (2003 Royals). Tommie Agee (1966 White Sox) was a non-roster player during spring training in 1974 but didn’t make the team.

The Dodgers have won the award a record 16 times: Jackie Robinson (1947), Don Newcombe (1949), Joe Black (1952), Jim Gilliam (1953), Frank Howard (1960), Jim Lefebvre (1965), Ted Sizemore (1969), Rick Sutcliffe (1979), Steve Howe (1980), Fernando Valenzuela (1981), Steve Sax (1982), Eric Karros (1992), Mike Piazza (1993), Raul Mondesi (1994), Hideo Nomo (1995) and Todd Hollandsworth (1996).

Center fielder Sam Jethroe was a member of the Dodgers’ Triple-A Montreal team when traded after the 1949 season to the Boston Braves. Jethroe won top rookie honors with the Braves in 1950.

One comment

  1. Michael Green

    And we had Roberto Clemente, who was NOT a rookie of the year, but one of the greatest players of all time.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s