Baseball’s First Cy Young Award

September 30, 1956 – Brooklyn’s Don Newcombe won his 27th game and the Dodgers clinched the N.L. title with an 8-6 victory over the Pittsburgh Pirates. Newcombe won baseball’s first Cy Young Award, along with N.L. MVP honors. Along with his 1949 N.L. Rookie of the Year honor, Newcombe would be the only MLB player to win all three major awards until Detroit Tigers pitcher Justin Verlander, the 2006 A.L. Rookie of the Year and 2011 Cy Young Award/MVP.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s