The First Cy Young Award

November 27, 1956 – A week after winning N.L. MVP honors, Brooklyn Dodger pitcher Don Newcombe receives the inaugural Cy Young Memorial Award​ after leading the Dodgers with 27 victories during the regular season. Newcombe, who also won the N.L. Rookie of the Year in 1949, was the only MLB player to win baseball’s top three postseason awards until Detroit’s Justin Verlander in 2011. The Cy Young Award was given to one pitcher among the two leagues until 1967 when a pitcher from each league was selected. Other Dodger Cy Young Award winners include Don Drysdale (1962), Sandy Koufax, (1963-65-66), Mike Marshall (1974), Fernando Valenzuela (1881), Orel Hershiser (1988), Eric Gagne (2003) and Clayton Kershaw (2011).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s